Posted by: ioannespaulus | November 1, 2009

Results of Feedback from the Second Latin Appreciation Workshop

And the results are out! Deo gratias! Thanks to everybody for being so supportive of our workshop! God bless you all! =D

Rating Key:
1 – Violently Disagree
2 – Strongly Disagree
3 – Disagree
4 – Slightly Disagree
5 – Sitting on the Left Side of the Fence
You can’t sit on the fence because it’ll hurt!
6 – Sitting on the Right Side of the Fence
7 – Slightly Agree
8 – Agree
9 – Strongly Agree
10 – Violently Agree

1. Saturday is just right for me

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.6

2. The timing is just right for me

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.2

3. Two hours is too long

|||||||||||||||| 3.8

4. I don’t like it when the timing exceeds two hours

|||||||||||||| 3.4

5. I am comfortable with the venue

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.4

6. Nine Sessions is just right

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.0

7. It should be longer!

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 5.8

8. There should be more singing!!!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.1

9. I love the chants that we’ve learnt

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.6

And we’ll continue to learn even more wonderful chants!

10. There should be more grammar!!!

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.4

11. I find the speaker VERY boring

|||||||||| 1.9

12. I think the speaker deviates too much from the topic

|||||||||||| 2.3

13. I still don’t know how to appreciate Latin

||||||||||||||||| 3.2

14. I’d rather be somewhere else

||||||||||| 2.1

15. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in prayer

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.7

16. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in the Liturgy

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.1

17. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in sacred music

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.6

18. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in sacred art

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.2

19. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in Scripture

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.1

20. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin within the Church

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.6

21. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin for the language that it is

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.4

22. I’ve fallen madly in love with Latin!!!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.9

23. I’ve developed a better appreciation for Mystery

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.4

24. I’m able to appreciate the grammar and I think I should be able to read and understand some Latin texts

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 6.8

25. Latin IS easier than Chinese!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.2

26. I think Latin is horrible. I’d rather learn Arabic!

|||||||||| 2.0

27. I really enjoyed my time!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.8

28. I would want to come back again

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.6

29. I would want to bring my friends

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.4

30. I’d rather call the police and have you guys arrested!

||||||| 1.4

31. I like the notes

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.6

32. The notes are not informative enough

|||||||||||||||||||| 3.9

33. I don’t have the time to do the translation exercises on the notes

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.1

34. It’s tooooooooo difficult to do!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||| 5.2

35. Even if it’s difficult, I still love Latin!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.3

That’s the spirit! Just keep trying. If you still have difficulty, nevermind! It’s ok! Slowly, but surely!

36. I think the PowerPoint slides are useful

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.7

37. There should be more stuff on the PowerPoint slides

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 6.9

38. Have you visited the Latin Appreciation Website? (answer Q39 if you answered YES)

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

94% said YES!

39. The website is useful

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.8

40. Did you take copies of the CDs of the recording of the Latin classes? (answer Q41-43 if you answered YES)

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

89% said YES!

41. I think the recording is very useful

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.8

42. I think the recording quality is very good

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.7

43. I think the recordings are helpful for my revision

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 9.1

44. Do you want to go to Rome for a fuller appreciation of Latin as a class?

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

78% said YES!

So… to Rome we shall go! Start saving!!! Woo!

45. When do you want to go to Rome?

||||||||||||||||||| 38% said Jul 2010!

|||| 8% said Sep 2010!

||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 54% said Dec 2010!

Since the majority vote is for December, we’ll plan for December, alright? =D

46. Will you be continuing with Level II Latin?

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

88% said YES!

Thank you so much! I hope to see you all again!

47. Additional Comments?

  • I like your humour!

  • I enjoyed the class thoroughly.

  • The instructor is so full of love and warmth. Thank God.

  • Good job. Keep it up and God bless!

  • Excellent lecturer. God sent us a very kind hearted, patient lecturer.

  • Appreciate your teaching very much. God bless you and your work.

  • God bless you for your passion and patience!

Once again, a HUGE thanks to everyone! God bless you all!

Leave a Reply

Categories

