Posted by: ioannespaulus | July 14, 2009

Results of Feedback from the First Latin Appreciation Workshop

And the results are out! Deo gratias! Thanks be to everyone for being so supportive of our workshop! Do keep a look out for the Second Round of Latin Appreciation, which should be starting soon! You can check back this website or e-mail me at johnpaulsim@gmail.com to receive updates. God bless!

Rating Key:
1 – Violently Disagree
2 – Strongly Disagree
3 – Disagree
4 – Slightly Disagree
5 – Sitting on the Left Side of the Fence
You can’t sit on the fence because it’ll hurt!
6 – Sitting on the Right Side of the Fence
7 – Slightly Agree
8 – Agree
9 – Strongly Agree
10 – Violently Agree

1. Saturday is just right for me

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.7

2. The timing is just right for me

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.2

3. Two hours is too long

|||||||||||||||| 3.8

4. I am comfortable with the venue

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.6

5. Seven Sessions is just right

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 5.6

We might increase the next one to 9 sessions

6. It should be longer

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.2

7. There should be more singing

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.4

We’ll have more singing!!!

8. There should be more grammar

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.4

We’ll have more grammar too!

9. I find the speaker VERY boring

||||||||||||| 2.6

10.I think the speaker deviates too much from the topic

||||||||||||| 2.6

11. I still don’t know how to appreciate Latin

|||||||||||||| 2.8

12. I’d rather be somewhere else

||||||||||| 2.2

13. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in prayer

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.8

14. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in the Liturgy

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.2

15. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in sacred music

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.5

16. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in Scripture

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.8

17. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin within the Church

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.4

18. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin for the language that it is

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.2

19. I’ve fallen madly in love with Latin!!!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 7.6

20. I’ve developed a better appreciation for Mystery

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.1

21. I’m able to appreciate the grammar and I think I should be able to read and understand some Latin texts

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 6.4

22. Seems like Latin IS easier than Chinese!

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 6.8

23. I think Latin is horrible. I’d rather learn Arabic!

|||||||| 1.5

24. I really enjoyed my time!

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.6

25. I would want to come back again

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.4

26. I would want to bring my friends

||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| 8.3

27. I’d rather call the police and have you guys arrested!

||||||||| 1.8

Additional Comments:

  • Thank you very much!
  • Praise the Lord for your gift of teaching – you bring joy to our appreciating Latin.
  • Violently joyful!
  • I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you very much.
  • I have had a tremendous fun time here!

DEO GRATIAS!

15. I’ve learnt to appreciate Latin in sacred musi
Responses

  1. Here’s a pretty cute Latin comic strip:
    http://www.minimus-etc.co.uk/comic_page.htm 🙂

    • Thanks! I’ll post this up!

  2. hey guys… so sorry i ended up missing almost everything… yes, i’m feeling sorry for myself, really… cos i can so tangibly feel your enthusiasm for Latin even from here!

    especially apologies to Jason: i’ve usurped your Chant CDs and EOF booklet for WAY too long… will return them to you tmr!!

    • Hey hey! No worries! You can try coming for Round 2! Or if you can’t make it for Round 2, then Round 3! =)

  3. […] Click here to see what past participants had to say about this workshop! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

